formula 2

Formula 2 is the last and highest junior category before Formula 1. In the past, some great racers have already managed to win this series. From 2005 to 2016, the racing series was still called GP2 Series. Among the F2 & GP2 champions are Nico Rosberg (05), Lewis Hamilton (06), Nico Hülkenberg (09), Romain Grosjean (11), Pierre Gasly (16), Charles Leclerc (17), George Russell (18) or Mick Schumacher in the last season. With four team championships ART Grand Prix was the most successful GP2 team, but so far they did not manage to win the Formula 2 team championship. These titles went to Russian Time, Carlin, DAMS and Prema from 2017 onwards.

The race format has been adapted for the 2021 season. The aim is to relieve the financial burden on teams that often compete in F2 and F3 at the same time. Therefore, F2 and F3 will now race on separate F1 weekends. In addition, three races will be held on the same weekend instead of two. The weekend will start as usual on Friday with free practice in the morning and qualifying in the afternoon. On Saturday, there will be two sprint races. In the first race, the top 10 from qualifying will start in reverse order. For the second race, the top 10 of the first race will start in reverse order. For the main race on Sunday, the actual qualifying result will be used for the starting grid.